Dream job or just dreaming?

Standard

I recently read an article in Stylist offering people a chance to ‘play shop’ in a retail space in Central London for 7 days courtesy of the Hospital Club. It was aimed at entrepreneurs  – people with a great business idea who hadn’t got it off the ground yet. The competition gave them the opportunity to ‘live their dream’ for one week and it could be anything from selling cookies to an exhibition of shoe designs or holding a social experiment. 

At first I thought, what a great idea! How inspiring for people who haven’t had that lucky break they’re waiting for. But the more I thought about it, it actually made me a bit jealous. I kept thinking: what about the rest of us? Wouldn’t it be great if we could all have a ‘trial period’ to see if our dream job is really everything we imagined it to be? Obviously, many of us probably have a probation period with any new job, but normally that’s to see if the company are happy with us, not the other way around.

Just think about it. Wouldn’t it be great to have a few weeks working in your new possible job before you actually accept it? That way at least you could see if your new boss was actually more Miranda Priestly or David Brent!

 You could get a real feel for the place and see if it was somewhere you’d like to be everyday.  You could also have hands-on experience of the work, not just read what was on the job advert.  

So why don’t companies do this? Perhaps they’re afraid that no one will want to come and work there after the trail. Or perhaps they just don’t want to invest the time and resources. Or maybe they just don’t want to let the possible new employee actually make a decision before they’ve arrived.

I do admit that it could be slightly chaotic but in my ideal world I would like to think that before they offer me my dream job, I would get to have a try at said ‘dream job’ first. Just to make sure it really is somewhere I could see myself working. I mean, how do you know what your favourite flavour of ice cream is without trying all the others first? Well, it should be the same with your job. You should be able to try out the possible options.

Sometimes we seem to lose sight of the fact that working isn’t just about paying the bills. Where we work is the place where we probably spend most of our time and most of our lives. So that should be a place you love, shouldn’t it?

Perhaps I’m too demanding…. Or maybe I’m just an idealist. Or maybe you could call me a recruiter of the future? (Well, not officially… give me a 2 week trial to see if I like the position first!)

One response »

Leave a Reply

